Chairman Groen Statement On The 2017 Election

Pennsylvania Democratic Party Chairman Marcel L. Groen issued the following statement regarding the election:

“Election Day was a great day for Democrats both across the country and here in Pennsylvania. Let it be known that voters prefer candidates who stand for growing the middle class and making sure that everyone who works hard can get ahead, and that the Democratic Party is the Party for them.

“We made history on many levels with this election. Justice Debra Todd won Supreme Court retention, putting her in line to become the first woman Chief Justice in the court’s 300-year history. It is my great pleasure to congratulate Judge Maria McLaughlin, Judge Carolyn Nichols, and Judge Debbie Kunselman for their victories on Pennsylvania’s Superior Court and to Judge Ellen Ceisler for her win for the Commonwealth Court. Each one of these judges is committed to serving the people of Pennsylvania. They are unparalleled in their experiences and in their dedication to transparency and integrity.

“I also want to thank Judge Dwayne Woodruff, Judge Geoff Moulton, and Judge Irene Clark for their well-run races. We wish them the best and we are proud of the effort of the entire ticket.

“History was made for Democrats in Southeastern Pennsylvania. Delaware County Democrats were elected to countywide seats for the first time since home rule was enacted. Democrats in Chester County swept all four county row offices — treasurer, controller, clerk of courts, and coroner — and all four are women. Democrats in Montgomery County won both judge seats, picked up a number of township, borough, and school district offices to continue to solidify the strength of the Party in the region. And Democrats made huge gains in Bucks County.

“Democrats won big in the Lehigh Valley as well. Phillips Armstrong kept the Lehigh County Executive blue. Lamont McClure won the Northampton County Executive Office, kicking out an incumbent, and Democrats picked up county council seats in a county Donald Trump won.

“Democrats saw great success across the state. Joe Schember will be the new Mayor of Erie and, based on the latest count, Erie County re-elected Kathy Dahlkemper to serve another term as county executive. Lackawanna County elected its first Democratic District Attorney in almost 50 years in Mark Powell and Scranton Mayor Bill Courtright won a second term. Luzerne County re-elected its Democratic County Controller. Philadelphia ushered in a new progressive era in its politics by electing Larry Krasner to District Attorney and Rebecca Rhynhart as City Controller. And Mayor Bill Peduto of Pittsburgh was re-elected in Pittsburgh.

“This is, however, only the beginning. We have laid the groundwork for 2018 and we have many more great things to do. I am proud to have worked with all of the Democratic candidates who ran this year. I thank every Pennsylvanian for voting in this election and look forward to the history we will make together in the next year.”